This was my about me on Facebook for awhile.

The concept of who “I am” baffles me. Aren’t we all playing a just playing a role whenever we’re around each other? I’m no different.

So, do I authentically like golf or do I like the perception of me I think playing golf gives me to others? When I play golf, am I actually just acting like the image I created of someone cool who plays golf based off watching Randolph Juno, Roy McAvoy and Tiger Woods?

I carry myself differently on the golf course than I do in class or in front of my mom. So which one is the real me or the true me?

I don’t think I can accurately make that determination. Even if I thought I could, I perceive things through my senses which are fallible. So that gets at a larger question; can I really know anything?

That’s not evening bringing up the possibility that I like golf ironically.

I’m pretty sure I didn’t answer the “spirit of this question” but I would rather risk sounding like a pretentious dick than write something that can’t really be accurate even if you’re one of the only people who read it.

By christopherlong729

Leave a comment